in

Qatar 2022: I made mistake in World Cup final – Referee, Marciniak confesses


Qatar 2022: I made mistake in World Cup final - Referee, Marciniak confesses

The referee who took charge of the 2022 World Cup final, Szymon Marciniak, has admitted he made a mistake during the game between Argentina and France.

Marciniak became the first official from Poland to oversee the biggest game in world football last Sunday.

He has received plenty of applause from pundits and fans for his performance.

Among Marciniak’s highlight were three rightfully awarded penalties and booking French striker Marcus Thuram for diving without consulting VAR.

However, the 41-year-old has confessed it was not a perfect outing for him.

“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL.

“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.

“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.”



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Written by admin

Zari All-White Party: Young Famous and African Cast Arrive in Ugandan Ahead of Flashy Event

Eugenie Bouchard shows major admiration, respect for Novak Djokovic